Grace Week! 032215

22 Mar

It’s that time of the semester again, clinical rotations/duties! At alam nating lahat na pinakapaborito at mahal na mahal ko sa lahat ang community area.

My group was assigned in the community for March 16-27, 2015. Just the thought of it makes all my insecurities and anxieties come back. While in the jeepney on the way to the health center, the memories, good and bad, rushed in as I see a familiar environment through the window.

While waiting for our clinical instructor, I’ve been trying to be positive about this area, that I’ve learned from the past semesters, that I’ll do fine this time. I was looking for encouraging verses, and I found these:

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Deuteronomy 31:6 NIV)

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9 NIV)

The first day has been rough, but in the end, we managed to get one client each. On the second day, we were able to get second clients, and assessment began on the third day. The first drafts of our papers were to be submitted on the fifth day. On the night of the third day, I started writing my papers. I was going on and off about being encouraged and inspired in writing my papers, so I looked for verses that could encourage me:

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6,7 NIV)

“The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” (Exodus 14:14 NIV)

I managed to finish the papers I could possibly write given the data I was able to gather and assess that day. On Thursday and Friday, we were asked to manage Hypertension and Smoking Cessation Clinics, respectively. Though the time was limited, I was able to gather the data I needed before Friday.

Thursday afternoon, ’til night, ’til Friday morning was no joke. Good thing I was writing my papers with some of my group mates, and we were able to take turns in sleeping for maximum productivity. We needed rest once in a while, but we also needed to finish our papers on time.

Bottomline, God’s grace reigned over this week. We were all able to pass our first drafts on time!

Compared to the past semesters, this is a breakthrough for me, for it is the first time that I was able to finish my papers on time and I was able to submit my papers on time. Through the events this week, I realized the main difference between this season of community duty from the past seasons of community duty: I HELD ON TO GOD’S PROMISE!

For the past semesters, I tend to forget that God is with me wherever I go, that he will not leave me nor forsake me. I let anxiety and insecurity creep into me. This time around, I filled my heart and mind with God and His word, that made all these things possible.

I know that there will be trials and struggles ahead of me, but God says that He has overcome the world (John 16:33). Why should I worry?

For it is written:

“Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.” (James 1:12 NIV)

“Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourself fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” (1 Corinthians 15:58 NIV)

Add a comment

